My (Delusional) Summer Reading List

So, okay, I’m a teacher, right? This means I always have a book list for summer. Do I read all of these? No way! I rarely get to all of my intended reads for the summer. One reason is because new books pop up all the time that I decided I want to read instead. Also, it’s because my summer reading largely consists of literary fiction, and I have a tendency to gobble up romances or fantasy YA whenever they grab my interest. Oh, and, of course, my children are home during summer, and one of their least favorite summer activities is watching Mommy read. (I can’t wait for them to be able to read themselves, but they probably still won’t enjoy watching me read during summer. I mean, it’s summer! Swimming and all!)

Anyway, here’s a list of my summer reading. I’ll check off in August what I actually read and what will become my fall reading! ­čśŤ And, of course, I’ll review those that I actually read throughout the summer.

Romance GenreCottonbloom

  1. Marrying Winterborne by Lisa Kleypas (My #1 of them all! May 31st!)
  2. Cottonbloom series by Laura Trentham (Out at intervals this summer)
  3. Rhymes with Love series by Elizabeth Boyle (Five out now!)

Young Adult (All available now!)

  1. The Grisha Trilogy by Leigh Bardugo (Already reading the first book)Serpent
  2. The Serpent King  by Jeff Zentner
  3. Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo
  4. Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard

Literary Fiction (All but Another Brooklyn available now!)

  1. What She Left Behind by Ellen Marie Wiseman
  2. The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern (Been trying to read this book forever! Maybe this summer will be the What she left behindtime!)
  3. The Vacationers by Emma Straub
  4. Summer House with Swimming Pool  by Herman Koch
  5. Jane Steele by Lyndsay Faye
  6. In the Unlikely Event by Judy Blume
  7. Another Brooklyn by Jacqueline Woodson (Available August 9th)
  8. Modern Lovers by Emma Straub
  9. Orphan Train by Christina Baker Kline (Has been languishing on my Kindle for months)Epitaph
  10. The Nest by Cynthis D’Aprix Sweeney
  11. Beatrice and Benedick by Marina Fiorato

Historical Fiction (All available now)

  1. Epitaph by Marie Doria Russell
  2. Wolf Hall and Bringing Up the Bodies by Hilary Mantel
  3. The Painted Girls by Cathy Marie Buchanan

Fantasy/Science Fiction (All available now)Uprooted

  1. The Inheritance Trilogy by N.K. Jemisin
  2. The Fifth Season by N.K. Jemisin
  3. Is Naomi Novik’s sequel to Uprooted┬ácoming out this summer? I don’t think so, but whenever it does come out, be sure I will read it that week! (Did you know there’s going to be a sequel? I read the announcement on her Twitter feed!) Maybe I’ll read one of her other books to tide me over. Uprooted┬ámay have been my favorite book of the year so far!

Also, I’ve been trying to finish reading the Game of Thrones series for, like, ever. Maybe this will be the magical summer (doubt it!). ­čÖé (When I say “finish”, I’ve only read the first one. Pathetic, I know. I watch the show instead!)

I think I’m going to finish up my Kate Morton books that I haven’t read yet. I like the idea of being able to say that I have read all the books of an author, besides Jane Austen, of course.

 

And just for fun, here’s the quite EXTENSIVE list of the books I never managed to finish last year (Note that there are no romance novels on this list. It’s because I read all of those last summer!):Good

  1. We Are Not Ourselves by Matthew Thomas
  2. Mrs. Poe by Lynn Cullen
  3. Fever by Mary Beth Keane
  4. The Girls at the Kingfisher Club by Genevieve Valentine
  5. Snow Like Ashes by Sara Raasch
  6. Graceling by Kristine Cashore
  7. Belzhar by Meg Wolitzer
  8. The Southern Reach Trilogy by Jeff Vandermeer
  9. The Good Girl by Mary Kubica

Might as well add these to the list, too. The more, the merrier. Besides, let’s face it–doesn’t matter how many I put on here, not all of these quality books will be read, not by me anyway. But it’s been entertaining coming up with the list and imagining that I’ll read them! Eventually. ­čÖé

Enjoy your summer reading, my dears.

Ta-ta for now,

HMichaele

3 thoughts on “My (Delusional) Summer Reading List

Leave a Reply

