Romance Novels I’ve Read in 2016

I started this blog in March, but I read A LOT of romance novels before spring break. After talking to my sister yesterday, I decided to list all of the romances I’ve read so far in 2016 and rate them. Here’s the rating system and the meanings:

  • Blech–What a waste of time! I couldn’t stomach this. I might have hated one or more of the main characters.
  • Hmmm…–I’m not totally sure I remember this, neither loved it nor hated it. Just read it.
  • Sweet–This was a humdrum novel, I suppose, but it had an entertaining plot. It might have lacked one of the following:
    • A character-driven, sometimes heartbreaking, tension between the two characters that I like.
    • Love interests who complement each other.
    • Believable character development.
  • So close!–This had almost every aspect of the top category, but characters might have had unbelievable backgrounds/traits or lacked depth (just a smooch too formulaic). Also, the plot devices used might have been questionable or unbelievable. (I may have laughed at some things, but that was not the author’s intent.) But still, emotional connections and tensions rule this book and made me want another from the author because I could sense the potential despite the issues.
  • I-WANT-TO-MARRY-IT!–Yeah, this book had it all–interesting plot, multi-layered characters, emotional connections, and believable tension between the love interest. This book made me root for the HEA and look up the author’s other books on Kindle immediately!

So, here’s the list of romance books I’ve read this year in 2016:

  1. Dukes Prefer Blondes by Loretta Chase:  I-WANT-TO-MARRY-IT!

  2. Born in Defiance by Sherrilyn Kenyon:  Hmmm…
  3. Built by Jay Crownover:  So close!
  4. The Fractured Heart by Scarlett Cole:  Hmmm…
  5. Waiting for Wyatt by S.D. Hendrickson:  Blech
  6. Fighting Solitude by Aly Martinez:  Sweet
  7. Fighting Hard by Marysol James: Sweet
  8. Fighting Strong by Marysol James: Sweet
  9. Fighting Love by Marysol James: Sweet
  10. Enemy Outside by Marysol James: Hmmm…
  11. Enemy Mine by Marysol James: Hmmm…
  12. His Light in the Dark by L.A. Fiore: Blech
  13. To Bed a Beauty by Nicole Jordan: I-WANT-TO-MARRY-IT!

  14. A Moment of Weakness by Brooklyn Skye: Hmmm…
  15. Braving Fate by Lynsey Hall:  Sweet
  16. Best Man to Wed by Penny Jordan: Blech
  17. The Wedding Journey by Carla Kelly:  Blech
  18. A Woman of Virtue by Liz Carlyle: Hmmm…
  19. Phantom Shadows by Diane Duvall: Sweet
  20. Night Unbound by Diane Duvall: So close!
  21. Rogue Soul by Lynsey Hall:  Sweet
  22. Wicked Delights of a Bridal Bed by Tracy Anne Warren: So close!
  23. Games of Command by Linnea Sinclair: Somewhere between “Hmmm…” and “Sweet.”
  24. Mad about the Man by Tracy Anne Warren: Hmmm…
  25. When He Was Wicked  by Julia Quinn: I-WANT-TO-MARRY-IT!

  26. One-Eyed Dukes Are Wild by Megan Frampton: So close!
  27. Put Up Your Duke by Megan Frampton: So close!
  28. Taylor’s Temptation by Suzanne Brockmann: Sweet
  29. Sweet Lullaby by Lorraine Heath: Blech
  30. Alinor by Roberta Gellis: Hmmm…
  31. The Proposal by Mary Balogh: Hmmm…
  32. How to Please a Lady by Jane Goodger: Sweet
  33. Cold-Hearted Rake by Lisa Kleypas: Blech (But like I said in my review, worth reading, unfortunately.)
  34. Tempting Mr. Townsend by Anna Campbell: Sweet
  35. Broken Wing by Judith James: Somewhere between “Hmmm…” and “Sweet.”
  36. Secrets of a Scandalous Bride by Sophia Nash: Somewhere between “Hmmm…” and “Sweet.”
  37. Touching Ice by Laurann Dohner: Hmmm…

  38. Haunting Blackie by Laurann Dohner: Blech
  39. Nobody Likes Fairytale Pirates by Elizabeth Gannon: Blech
  40. Radiance by Grace Drave: I-WANT-TO-MARRY-IT! (See my review here.)
  41. Cowboy from the Future by Cassandra Gannon: Somewhere between “Sweet” and “So close!”
  42. Sweetest Scoundrel by Elizabeth Hoyt: Sweet

I think that’s it. I’ve also downloaded and read a lot of samples that I deleted within minutes, but that’s a different blog post.

I think that’s it, my friends. I notice going through this that I don’t have many of the top two categories, So close! and I-WANT-TO-MARRY-IT!, but hopefully, I’ll find some more of these soon!

Until then, hope you pick up a few of my suggestions and tell me what you think about them!

Happy romance reading, my lovelies!

Ta-ta,

HMichaele

Leave a Reply

