Commentary: “Unlawful Contact” by Pamela Clare

UnlawfulMy favorite type of romance? (All romance readers have one!) It’s bad boy and good girl meet when they are young, connect, but have to go their separate ways because, well, life. Then, of course, as this is the romance genre, they meet when they are adults and find out they were always perfect for each other.

Some examples of my favorites with this plot? The Unsung Hero by Suzanne Brockmann ($2.99 on Kindle right now!), When He Was Wicked  by Julia Quinn, One Reckless Summer by Toni Blake, Beast in Shining Armor by Cassandra Gannon, You Own Me by Shiloh Walker, Seduce Me at Sunrise by Lisa Kleypas, and She Tempts the Duke by Lorraine Heath, just to name a few that I remember off the top of my head.

I list these because I’m pretty sure I’m going to add Unlawful Contact by Pamela Clare to my favorites. It was that good.

Bad boy Hunt and good girl Sophie Alton have one special night as teens the night before he embarks on a military career. Sophie inspires hope in Hunt, whose family life is unstable. Cut to twelve years later, and Hunt, whose real name is Marc Hunter, has been in both the military and an agent for the DEA. But he’s hit hard times since he’s now in prison for the murder of a fellow DEA agent and drug possession.

Sophie is an investigative reporter who has been speaking to Megan Rawlings, who unbeknownst to Sophie is Marc’s sister. (Cue eye roll here!) When Megan goes missing, Hunt arranges to meet Sophie to gain her insights on Megan’s disappearance. Sophie does not recognize him at first (What a blow to his ego!), which is unfortunate because he holds her hostage to escape prison, scaring the crudola out of her in the process until she realizes who he is. From here, the book is a journey in their search for Megan and Sophie’s desire to look into Marc’s case, which seemingly has a link to Megan’s disappearance.

Look–this book is not believable, but as long as you can suspend your disbelief at all the crazy coincidences that are littered throughout the book, then you’re in for a wrenching romance that will have you wondering exactly how this relationship has any chance of a future at all. (But it’s a romance novel…so, you know. It usually does.)

And I love both Sophie and Marc, or Hunt, as Sophie knew him in her teens. They are really great together, and their romance is sweet and passionate. I will say if your not okay with some obsessive (borderline stalkerish) behavior from the hero, this story probably isn’t for you. I’m usually not into the whole I-love-you-so-much-that-I-can’t-be-separated-from-you-or-trust-you-by-yourself, but I accept the reasoning Marc has for why he’s watching Sophie, which is at first to make sure she gets him some information he needs about his sister and later to make sure she’s safe when the action gets a little hairy.

I should say that this book is part Clare’s I-Team series, which is a series about reporters who work in at a news agency. Clare allows previous characters to pop up throughout the novel, but the focus largely stays on the central characters of Sophie and Marc, which is better, in my opinion. The fact that I hadn’t read any of the others did not negatively affect my reading experience at all, and Unlawful Contact actually made me want to read the rest of the series.

So, yeah. I liked this book a lot, and it’s definitely going to be added to my KEEPER shelf, to be reread in times of romance slumps. 🙂

Until next time, enjoy the I-Team and their stories!

Ta-ta,

HMichaele

Leave a Reply

