Addendum: Review of “Eligible” by Curtis Sittenfeld

eligibleOkay, so I have an addendum to my review of Eligible by Curtis Sittenfeld.

I went to Goodreads to update my reading profile, and I discovered that Eligible is listed as Eligible: A Modern Retelling of Pride and Prejudice (The Austen Project, #4)

I thought: What the hell is “The Austen Project,” and what are the other three books in the project?

Turns out HarperCollins has a assigned Austen’s books to contemporary authors. There are three others, besides Eligible, in the project out already. They are as follows:

There has not been an announcement about authors for the retellings of the other two books in Austen’s collection, Mansfield Park and Persuasion.

But there is a Facebook page dedicated to the project, as well as blog articles about the project and reviews of previous retellings or about the project’s lack of success, as some of the opinions may be. There’s also a whole blog on Austen called “The Austen Project” that reviews Eligible and includes blog posts on varying aspects of Austen’s works in general. Pretty interesting.

I don’t know if I’ll read these other books, but I wanted to give you a chance to look up the others in case you wanted to. Just thought it was interesting to share this discovery because I had no idea about this project when I picked up Eligible!

Ta-ta,

HMichaele

Leave a Reply

