Random Romance Review

The fact is this: I read way more than the books I review. So to make up for this, I’ve set up a system to review in brief those books that I simply didn’t have time to write a complete review for. Here’s the rating system:

  • Blech–What a waste of time! I couldn’t stomach this. I might have hated one or more of the main characters.
  • Hmmm…–I’m not totally sure I remember this, neither loved it nor hated it. Just read it.
  • Interesting…This plot had a lot of action or a lot of friend/family scene, sometimes at the expense of the love story. But I liked it, mostly. More importantly, I remember this.
  • Sweet–This was a good love story, and it had an entertaining plot. It might have lacked one of the following:
    • A character-driven, sometimes heartbreaking, tension between the two characters that I like.
    • Love interests who complement each other.
    • Believable character development.
    • Intense passion.
  • So close!–This had almost every aspect of the top category, but characters might have had unbelievable backgrounds/traits or lacked depth (just a smooch too formulaic). Also, the plot devices used might have been questionable or unbelievable.  But still, emotional connections and tensions rule this book and made me want another from the author because I could sense the potential despite the issues.
  • I-WANT-TO-MARRY-IT!–Yeah, this book had it all–interesting plot, multi-layered characters, emotional connections, intense passion, and believable tension between the love interest. This book made me root for the HEA and look up the author’s other books on Kindle immediately!

Okay, so here’s the most recent list of romance novels I’ve read with brief impressions of the novel.

  1. The Earl Takes All by Lorraine Heath. So close! Edward Alcott is pretending to be his twin brother, the Earl of Greyling, so that his brother’s pregnant widow won’t lose the baby she’s carrying. To complicate matters, he has loved Julia, his brother’s wife, for years. Julia realizes something’s amiss, but thinks it’s due to being apart and her husband losing his brother. There’s passion and love, and the animosity between Edward and Julia doesn’t last long after the big reveal is made. But there’s a ick factor in HER marrying HIM. The reason is there; I’m just not sure I liked it. But once I learned to overlook this issue, I really enjoyed this book, like I do with most of Heath’s works. 🙂

  2. To Pleasure a Prince by Sabrina Jeffries: So close! I actually really liked this book. The Dragon Viscount, Lord Marcus North, makes a deal with Lady Regina Tremaine to help protect his sister Louisa from Regina’s brother, the Duke of Foxmoor, who Regina believes is courting Louisa sincerely. But really, it’s all a ruse set up by Prinny, the heir to the throne of England, who is Marcus’s true father and thinks he is Louisa’s as well. Everyone in the book has their own agenda, but it doesn’t take too much away from the romance between Marcus and Regina. This is the second book in Jeffries’s The Royal Brotherhood series, all of which focus on the bastards of Prinny, King George IV. I would definitely recommend this book, and I plan on reading the others in the series soon. Plus, Louisa and Foxmoor have their own book, set seven years from this one.
  3. Ha’ven’s Song by SE Smith and Jaquin’s Love by SE Smith: Somewhere between Hmmm… and Interesting.  These were okay. Aliens with powers, like turning into dragons, find their mates on Earth and bring them back to their home planet. Reminds me of the Brides of the Kindred series by Evangeline Anderson, a little. I am not reading anymore of these. I thought they were okay, but not something I want to continue reading.
  4. Forevermore by Kristen Callihan:  Sweet. This is the seventh novel in Callihan’s Darkest London series. The main romance is between Layla Starling and St. John Evernight, both of whom are powerful in this supernatural world. But there’s a side romance between the angel Augustus and Layla’s mother Lena, which I actually thought was more interesting. I wanted more of them, honestly, but overall the book was decent.
  5. Claimed (The Outlaw series) by Elle Kennedy and Addicted (The Outlaw series) by Elle Kennedy:  So close! This new series by Elle Kennedy is erotica, set in an alternative rough-and-tumble world of outlaws, and includes multiple partners and voyeuristic sex scenes, so these books might not be for everyone. Honestly, I was a little uncomfortable with some of the scenes (I don’t usually read erotica.), but I overlooked it because the romances in both were passionate! I might write a review of the entire series once it’s done.
  6. Truth or Beard by Penny Reid: So close! Okay, this is the first book in Reid’s new series, The Winston Brothers. These brothers have names like Cletus, Duane, and Beau. What’s not to love? This first book focuses on Duane and Jessica. Jessica has a crush on Duane’s twin, Beau, but Duane has loved Jessica since high school. There’s a ton of passion and intensity in this book, although I liked Duane more than Jessica. He’s a sweetie pie! I will definitely read the rest in this series when they come out. The second one, Grin and Beard It, is out and in my queue waiting to be read, actually!
  7. Rescuing the Bad Boy by Jessica Lemmon:  I did not enjoy this one that much. The hero, Donovan Pate, was kind of an ass, even though we’re supposed to feel sorry for him because of his abuse-laden past. And the heroine, Sofie Martin, was ridiculous in her belief that one night with her would change his entire personality when they were younger, even though she knows he’s a player. When they meet again some years down the road, the attraction is still there, of course. I don’t know. Sofie just had very little self-respect. She is almost obsessed with him even though they only slept together once when they were younger and didn’t date.  Plus, he was super rude to her, and I mean SUPER RUDE, after they slept together, and she barely holds that against him. It would have been a better book it they had never had that night, merely the past attraction, then maybe I would have liked them both more.
  8. Clay’s Hope by Melissa Haag: Hmmm… I don’t know. This was a weird one. Includes shifters and humans interacting. Not sure I remember enough to comment, which says something, I think.
  9. Midnight Action by Elle Kennedy: Interesting… Jim Morgan, leader of a company of mercenaries, and Noelle Phillips, an assassin for hire, have a complicated past filled with betrayal and heartache. But when Jim is in danger, Noelle is there to help him, even under some duress. The animosity between the two is too much at times, honestly, but the cast of characters surrounding them made this a better book for a change. I might read some of the other books in this series, but not all.

  10. A Rake’s Guide to Seduction by Caroline LindenI-WANT-TO-MARRY-IT! I loved this story between Anthony Hamilton and Celia Reece. Anthony has loved Celia for years, even asking her father for her hand. But she had already been promised to another. After her husband’s death, Anthony works to kindle a relationship between them. I love unrequited love stories, so this is definitely going on my keeper shelf!
  11. The Study of Seduction by Sabrina Jeffries: Hmmm…. Part of her Sinful Suitors series, Jeffries pairs Edwin Barlow, the Earl of Blakeborough, and Lady Clarissa Lindsey. Again, I don’t know what to think about this one. Edwin’s prim and proper, and it makes sense to pair him with Clarissa because she’s a little bit more free spirited. But… I’m not sure I remember enough about this. I do remember that I didn’t like Clarissa that much. This is one of those times when I don’t like Jeffries books, which happens every once in a while. There was a lack of passion between the two characters.

That’s it. Until next time, enjoy one of the above selections!

Ta-ta,

HMichaele

Leave a Reply

