Review: “Till I Kissed You” by Laura Trentham

fbed1-tillMy friends, it’s decided. I’m moving to Cottonbloom, the dual-state small town in Laura Trentham’s summer Cottonbloom series.

Why? Because, darn it, Trentham makes small town life seem CHARMING and FUN! I want to eat crayfish and drink beer on the Louisiana side and go to an ice cream social and drink lemonade on the ‘Sip side. (You’ll understand when you read it!)

Like the first two books in this series (Kiss Me That Way review here and Then He Kissed Me review here), Till I Kissed You focuses on the love life of one of the Fournette siblings, in this case Sawyer. If you read my previous reviews, you know I was REALLY looking forward to reading about Sawyer and his love-hate relationship with former flame Regan Lovell, the mayor of the ‘Sip side of Cottonbloom. In fact, I was so looking forward to it that I was afraid I would be disappointed, like with so many others I had been looking forward to reading this summer.

But let me tell you, my dears, Trentham DELIVERS! Till I Kissed You is a fun-filled, sweet, sensual book that makes you fall in love with Sawyer and Regan as a couple, even if you were already in love with them from the previous books! (I totally was!)

And I don’t say this next part lightly: Till I Kissed You is officially my FAVORITE ROMANCE OF 2016!

Sawyer and Regan, unlike the other two couples, had an actual relationship in high school. Regan, from the ‘Sip side (affluent), and Sawyer, from the Louisiana side (not affluent), loved each other, but things got complicated once they ended up in different colleges. (Break-ups happen; in fact, I always think they should when couples meet in high school, especially in romance novels!)

Years after they both return to Cottonbloom, Sawyer and Regan’s animosity and hurt feelings from their break up are inflamed by a competition between the two towns’ new festivals and the possibility of award money that they both need to revitalized their respective sides of town.

But there’s a catch: Someone doesn’t like Regan’s efforts to help Cottonbloom on the ‘Sip side of town, mainly due to the raise in taxes she imposed as the mayor on the small business owners from Mississippi. When Sawyer finds out that she’s receiving threatening letters, he tries to watch over her, in spite of her protests, making sure she’s safe.

Of course, this protectiveness he feels toward her has just been waiting to shine through their hilarious confrontations in previous books. I expected this book to be funny, and it was, mainly because the two main characters possess self-confidence, a willingness to laugh at themselves, and optimistic outlooks in almost every aspect of their lives.

And while there were funny scenes (Regan catching Sawyer behind a corner of the courthouse after a meeting and him standing there awkwardly not really knowing how to explain), what really struck me was the PASSION! Regan and Sawyer LONG for each other, but are (legitimately) scared of getting hurt again. The little things they do for each other will make you sigh with happiness and contentment.

SIDEBAR: Oh, and I thought it was brilliant that Trentham made Sawyer realize how easily Regan was manipulated as a teen by her snobbish mother to break up with him, mainly because her mother casts her machinations in Sawyer’s fully-ADULT direction and manages to feed his doubts. I mean, I never blamed Regan for breaking up with Sawyer when they were in college (they did not go to the same school), but some readers might blame her for the initial break up, as his siblings Cade and Tally do. I thought this was a gentle reminder in how strong a TEENAGER has to be to stand up not just to distance but to masterful parental pressure, something even Sawyer can’t totally do as an adult. In fact, I totally blamed Sawyer more for the final college break-up, and you’ll see the reason why when you read it.

And read it, you should, my friends! It’s already in my favorites folder on my Kindle, along with Then He Kissed Me and Kiss Me That Way. I’m going to miss the quirky, charming, dual-state town of Cottonbloom!

With her Cottonbloom series, Laura Trentham has ensured a life-long reader in me, and I hope in you, too!

Until next time, hope you enjoy Cottonbloom and the Fournettes!

Ta-ta,

HMichaele

Leave a Reply

